Global Sustain
Sign up to the newsletter

United Nations Global Compact

The UN Global Compact announces 15 national SDG Pioneers

21.08.2019 Share

The young SDG Pioneers are recognized for their exceptional efforts to advance the Sustainable Development Goals

The United Nations Global Compact today announced the winners of the country-level search for SDG Pioneers — young business leaders who are doing an exceptional job to advance the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

These 15 young professionals were judged by an expert panel comprised of representatives of Government, business and civil society. The selection criteria included the individuals' commitment to embedding the Ten Principles of the UN Global Compact into their companies' core strategies, their efforts to advance the SDGs, as well as their engagement with the UN Global Compact and its Local Networks.

“Four years in, it is clear that progress on the Sustainable Development Goals is much slower than it should be,” said Lise Kingo, CEO and Executive Director of the UN Global Compact. “By recognizing and encouraging young business leaders who are driving transformative solutions in their respective sectors, we have the opportunity to drive truly systemic change and shift the world onto a more sustainable path.” 

The SDG Pioneers programme is part of the UN Global Compact Making Global Goals Local Business campaign. In 2019, the search for SDG Pioneers focused on young professionals, aged 35 and under, working at any level in a company participating in the UN Global Compact, who are advancing the SDGs through their work. 

The 2019 national Global Compact SDG Pioneers are:

These national winners will progress to the global round of the search for 2019 UN Global Compact SDG Pioneers alongside individuals who applied in countries where a national competition was not held. The ten winners of the global round will be announced and recognized during the 74th Session of the UN General Assembly in New York in September.

The 2019 SDG Pioneers programme is supported by the Tuborg Foundation.